The Aerial Maps became a “band” in the period from late 2007 to late 2008, where a bunch of recording sessions to put some of my words to music with my brother Simon Gibson and Simon Holmes saw things morph into something that felt good and substantial. As a result, I attached the “Aerial Maps” monicker, that had been bouncing around in my head for a couple of years prior, to the project and before we knew it, we were launching our debut album In the Blinding Sunlight, and touring Melbourne, Brisbane and Sydney. It’s funny how things work out – an album with of largely spoken lyrics meeting jangly/atmospheric/whatever-goes music is an interesting proposition. A second album followed in 2011, based on a novel manuscript I wrote, with the resultant album being called The Sunset Park. It was interesting. After many gigs and stuff, I put the Aerial Maps on ice and began playing some different, new, stuff with the Ark-Ark Birds, going on to release two albums. They’re good, buy them on Bandcamp.
Popboomerang Records ‎– PB 048
CD, Album
Jan 2008
1 On The Punt 4:52
2 Be Home Before The Streetlights Go On 2:54
3 One Of Those Nights 1:52
4 Everyone's Eyes Are Always Much Smaller 4:32
5 As Good As... 1:17
6 The Shark 2:16
7 The Building Of The Breakwall 4:11
8 Some Other Dream 4:43
9 London Still Exists 5:41
10 The Great Australian Silence 5:55
11 In The Blinding Sunlight 4:11
Hidden Bonus Track
12 I Will Be Waiting For You ... 1:03


SKU 6629

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Tourbus Entertainment users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category