Octahedron is the stunning 2009 album from The Mars Volta.
An album heady with the emotion and high-drama that has always been the band's trademark, their newfound simplicity and focus has delivered some of the most immediate and powerful songs in their discography. The album opens with the tender ache of "Since We've Been Wrong", Cedric's keening vocal establishing a mood that's deeply blue, powerfully melancholic, a suckerpunch that hits every bit as hard as Octahedron's unashamed rockers (the gleaming futuristic funk of "Teflon", the tense chase-music of "Cotopaxi").

Pulling back from the full-tilt experimentation of previous releases, the album invests its energies in Omar's gift for songcraft, for swooning guitar runs of high tension and emotive power ("Luciforms"' epic riffage), and for the nagging hooks and melodies that wreath the churning rhythms of "Desperate Graves".


Side A
1. Since We've Been Wrong
2. Teflon
Side B
1. Halo Of Nembutals
2. With Twilight As My Guide
Side C
1. Cotopaxi
2. Desperate Graves
Side D
1. Copernicus
2. Luciforms



Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Tourbus Entertainment users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category